top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris

Wow, I really dropped the ball.

Hey everyone. I just realized that it has been 6 months since I have updated my blog. 6 months since the world seemed to go insane. 6 months since we all realized that we are going to need to discover what the new normal is.


It's almost Autumn here. That means that for most of the United States the weather will, hopefully, be turning cooler. The leaves will get that beautiful glow and start to fall to the ground. This is the time of the year in which a large percentage of the United States will start to wear comfy sweaters, and sip hot cider, or pumpkin spice lattes, whichever is your jam. If you are in the California, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Florida, or any of the other crazy hot states, you start thinking about the day in which the weather will start to drop out of the extreme heat and you can start opening your windows to listen to the rain fall and pretend that it is actually cold enough to wear sweaters and sip hot drinks, while sipping a hot beverage in your air conditioned house.

 

Fitness

If you look back through my posts, you'll see that I am a huge advocate for getting your exercise while hanging out with your friends. As we are all starting to ease out of our homes, getting together with large groups of people may not be something you're comfortable with. That's totally understandable.


The weather is supposed to be starting to cool, though. This means that more people can start getting out of their houses again. Fresh air is healthy, [If your are in one of the several states that are currently on fire, please check your air quality and don't go outside unless it is truly safe] it makes your body feel alive. It boosts your immune system.



Right now is a great time to start a new outdoor walking/running habit. Walking/running is a great solo activity, or and activity you can do is a very small, read 2-3 people, group. It's so good for you, too. I like to advocate for walking and running because you really can do it just about anywhere, you can go at a pace your body likes, and the amount of money you need to spend is quite minimal. Since it's just starting to get to be outdoor weather everywhere, maybe find an awesome trail to walk with a friend, or two, or by yourself. Here are the 50 best trails in the United States, according to Prevention Magazine. You can always google the best trails in your state as well.


If you are going to go out on the trails, please follow some safety suggestions. Make sure your phone is fully charged and protected from breaking/getting wet. Bring some healthy snacks and plenty of water with you. Let a few people know where you are going and when you plan to be back. Pack for changing weather. It might be warm, or downright hot, where you live, but you should still bring an emergency blanket and a lightweight hoodie with you. You should also remember the bug spray and sunscreen. Weather can be unpredictable and you never know what you might encounter while out on a trail. Go prepared. Another great tip to prevent you from getting lost on a trail? Every time you come to a split in the path, walk past it, then turn around and take a picture of it from your return point of view. That way you have a visual guide for your trip back, things look different at different times of the day and it's easy to get disoriented. Make sure you pack a couple of masks. You only need to wear them when you're within 6 feet of other people, so you might not even need it, but it's better to be safe than sorry.


In the end, get outside, breathe the air, enjoy not being cooped up in your house.


 

Nutrition

I have a confession to make, I love fall foods! Pumpkin, butternut squash, acorn squash, sweet potatoes, they're my jam! I wait all spring and summer for them. They're delicious and filled with nutrition. When I make my September meal plan, yes I plan every single meal and dessert for an entire month, I try to fill it up with squash yumminess. Those lovely orange fruits, squash is a fruit, are so versatile. They can be used in sweet dishes, like these loaded up oatmeal pumpkin cookies, or in delicious savory dishes, like this roasted butternut squash and spinach dish. There are so many options. If you go to my meal plan you can see what we are eating this month.


Now let me tell you some of the amazing reasons to enjoy butternut squash. A serving of butternut squash is super low in fat, contains 1.4 grams of protein, has a ton of potassium, 14% of your recommended daily intake, is filled with fiber, contains 49% of your recommended daily intake of vitamin C, and a whopping 298% of your Vitamin A value. Vitamin A is important for you eyesight, for your bone health, your immune system, and growth and development. Oh, and butternut squash just tastes amazing! It's a bit of prep work if you buy it whole, but its so worth it.



 

Mind Body Connection

Ah yes, my focus, my passion, yoga and mindfulness. I'll let you in on a not-so-secret, I really struggled during the lockdowns, I'm really struggling now in the ever changing post-lockdown-still-during-Covid-19-but-no-one-wants-to-acknowledge-that-its-still-a-thing-protests-versus-riots-everyone-has-a-strong-opinion-everyone-is-stressed-angry-upset world. I stopped my daily yoga, I stopped working in my garden, it was over 110 degrees outside. We couldn't go anywhere. I think a lot of people experienced this. At first, I was hitting the mat, the treadmill, the weight bench like a beast, but the endless monotony of life started to wear on me, there was no end in sight. I know now that is was an issue of my brain not wanting to adapt to the new reality. We were all in fight, flight, or freeze mode. Our brains were trying to deal with the trauma and the perceived threat we were experiencing.


Finally, I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. My brain has accepted things as they are. I am back on my mat at least 5 days a week. I'm back on the treadmill 2 days a week. I'm starting to learn how to negotiate the emotions I feel. I'm starting to feel like "me" again.


I've heard so many people repeat this same basic story. Our brains and our bodies are amazing things, however, they love the comfort of a routine, they love being in control. Most people lost their routines, they lost that little sense of control they had had. Now, 7 months later, we are starting to see things even back out. Now is the time to start to examine yourself, examine what you can control, what you can't control.


I know that for a lot of people the act of meditating is just too daunting. Our monkey minds want us to constantly be doing things, looking at things, are distracted by things. Instead, get back onto your mat and really start listening to your body. Use yoga as a way to meditate and adapt. By giving your mind something that it has to focus on, your breath and holding your body in position, you're giving it a chance to rest and process as well. Maybe check out Yoga with Adriene's yoga for change video, or Jessica Richburg's Mindful Yoga Flow. You can always just go to Youtube and search for yoga classes as well. Remember, you bring the breath and the breath brings the change.


 

Well, I think that is all for now. Remember, just take life one breath at a time.


Love, peace, and hope to everyone,







14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page