top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris

Give Yourself the Gift of Meditation

Meditation, it is so hard to start. It is so hard to sit with yourself.


Many people have the incorrect idea that meditation is the emptying of all thoughts from your mind. That's impossible. Your minds whole job is to think. How would it be possible to make it stop? It isn't.


This is why I suggest that you start your exploration with meditation with guided meditations. They will help you confront the discomfort of facing your inner thoughts. That's what meditation is really about. It is about learning how to let the thoughts slip through your mind without fixating on them.


There is not one "correct" way to meditate. It is about finding what works for you, at the moment.


I, personally, employ several different meditation techniques, depending on my needs at the time. Running can be meditation, cleaning can be meditation, resting can be meditation, painting can be meditation. It isn't just sitting on a pillow cross legged with your hands on your lap. Though, that works in certain situations as well. Sometimes, I need music to meditate, sometimes, I need an ambience room, sometimes I need silence.


***Side note: If you've never used an ambience room, you really should check them out. Just search for them in YouTube. There are a ton! I love Calmed By Nature, MaAmbience, Autumn Cozy, the Guild of Ambience, and I'm sure there are some that I missed. You can find all kinds of rooms to fit your needs.***


The key to "successful" meditation is just showing up. Once you've made that commitment, you have taken the first step toward achieving it.


Start small, just like you wouldn't just run a marathon, you can't just meditate for an hour. I started with just 3 minutes, and it felt excruciatingly long. Sometimes, 3 minutes still feels too long to me.


Remember, every day will be different. It all depends on what you physically, mentally, and emotionally need.


Check out my guided meditations if you want a place to start. Reach out if you want to talk. You're doing better than you know.


Love you all,

Kris

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page