top of page

Hello Again

Let me start by saying Happy New Year!


I know I haven't updated in like, 3 months, but those were a rough 3 months for our world. I was in pure survival mode. The pandemic is real. The results of the US election are real. I know that this is a fitness site, not a political one, but right now, I feel that it is very important for my mental well being to acknowledge why the last 3 months were so hard on me, and millions of other people.


My hubby and I did continue some of our traditions, safely. We went to a Seaworld and had our pictures taken with Abominable and Santa. This year, we did it well before Thanksgiving though, to avoid the holiday crowds. We did the Disney Springs Christmas tree trail, as soon as it opened, again to avoid the crowds.





In the best of times, I have near crippling social anxiety that forces me to try and avoid crowded locations. During a pandemic, it is almost impossible for me to go to even minor crowds. I have stopped in store shopping except where absolutely necessary. I don't socialize in person, I am learning to embrace being on camera for Zoom/Skype get togethers. The emerging science around this pandemic is showing that certain blood types are more susceptible and other blood types are less susceptible. There are also underlying conditions that increase/decrease your likelihood of contracting it. Unfortunately for me, I have A positive blood which is the highest risk category and I have several of the underlying risk factors. These things paired with my already really bad social anxiety are not great.


Some good has come of all of this though. I have decided to start doing podcasts of my yoga classes, and I'm just about convinced by my friends and family to also do youtube videos. So there is that.


Do I know what the future brings? Most definitely not. Am I going to cower in fear and let it paralyze me? Also no.


All we as a species can do right now, is breathe and have faith that the future will happen as it is meant to be. It's not exactly the most comforting thought, but what else can we do? Life is coming at us hard right now.


I've never been a fan of the New Year's Resolution. They don't have a great success record. I'm more of a little goals, little changes that you can make, kind of person. And since we can't really control a lot of what's happening around us right now, I am choosing to focus on what I can control. My hubby and I are eating healthy nourishing meals, I am working out regularly, and I am taking the time to read and decompress as needed.


I know that this post is a little different than normal, and maybe its the new normal, we just have to wait and see.


Stay safe and healthy out there, I love you all,

Kris


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page