top of page
  • Writer's pictureKris

Last Few Weeks of Summer

Hello everyone.


It's almost the bestestestest, this is totally a word, time of the year. Just a few more short weeks until Autumn arrives. However, we still have a few more weeks of heat and summer and all the gloriousness that it brings.


I do have an amazing announcement though. I have officially started my 200 hour yoga teacher training. In a few short months, I will be fully certified. I am so excited for this journey!



Fitness

As summer comes to a close, the weather remains hot, the days remain long. Why not combine your fitness with cooling off. Swimming is fantastic exercise. It's a full body exercise that helps you torch calories without sweating, a huge win when its sweltering out. Its also low impact, gently supports your body, and has been shown to increase relaxation and mental health.


I also find that simply slipping into a wave pool at the local water park and simply bracing my body to hold it in a single position while the waves crash over me to be quite the workout.

You don't even need to actually "swim". Simply getting in the water and goofing off with your friends is a great workout!


Head into a pool, lake, ocean, or any other body of water and cool off and get stronger!


Nutrition


There are so many fresh fruit and vegetable options in August. It's hard to simply focus in on one great choice. I know I've already mentioned that it is the perfect time of year to go to the local produce department and see what's out there, but really, do it.


I love grabbing local fresh squash, slicing it up, tossing a bit of olive oil and grill seasoning on it, and grilling it up. I can eat it all in a sitting, as a snack.

This time of year is also perfect for snacky types of meals. Grab some cheese, slice it up. Grab your favorite nut butter and slice up an apple. It's a great meal that you can take with you to the park, or the beach, or the lake, or wherever!


I also love making healthier pasta salads this time of year. Grab some whole grain, high protein pasta and cook it up al dente. Drain it. Toss it with a bit of red wine vinegar, olive oil, and Italian seasoning. You can also use your favorite Italian/Balsamic dressing. Mix in diced cucumber, onions, kalamata olives, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach and some feta cheese. I also throw in garbanzo beans. Of course you can always customize it to your favorite tastes. Super bright and refreshing on a hot summer day!


Mind Body Connection


This time of year is a time of major change for a lot of people. You'll feel more emotionally drained, more stuck in one place. The goal of the ending of summer is to look inward and decide what you need to let go of.


I have found that the easiest way for me to let my thinking mind rest, so that I can hear my inner truth, is a moving meditation, most commonly known as a yoga practice.


I have found the Yoga With Adriene channel on Youtube to be amazing. She is a wonderful teacher and friend. She has several different 30 Day programs to do. They are amazing for beginners and advanced practitioners alike. Check them out and let her guide you into a self discovery. You might be surprised at what you find.


Thank you all, for continuing this journey with me. Remember, you are strong and amazing. This summer is still yours for the taking.

Love to you all,

Kris



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page